Sports Local Hockey

PHOTOS: Terriers year end awards banquet

By Portage Daily Graphic, Portage Daily Graphic

The Portage Terriers held their year end awards banquet tonight at the Canad Inns in Portage la Prairie.

The Dogs wrapped up the regular season Saturday with a home victory over the Wolverines and kick off their MJHL quarter final playoff series Friday.

The list of award winners is as follows:

Rookie of the Year - Joey Moffatt

Best Defensemen - Mackenzie Dwyer

Most Improved Player - Ty Enns

Top Scorer - Jeremey Leipsic

Sportsmanship with Ability - Jeremey Leipsic

MVP for Central Plains - Lane Taylor

Best Defensive Forward - Turner Ripplinger

Community Spirit Award - Ty Barnstable, Turner Ripplinger

Best Defensive Defensemen - Cole Oliver and Kain Stevenson

Portage Minor Hockey Scholarship - Tanner Garnham

Award of Commitment and Dedication - Mackenzie Dwyer, Kain Stevenson, Jeremey Leipsic

Outstanding Team Player - Ty Barnstable

Most Valuable Player - Chase Brakel

Veteran Awards - Kain Stevenson, Jeremey Leipsic, Cole Oliver, Tanner Garnham, Lasse Petersen, Mackenzie Dwyer

Fan Appreciation - Joey Moffatt

Geno Romanow Award of Dedication - Frank Hay


Reader's comments »

By adding a comment on the site, you accept our terms and conditions

Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »