WMCI doles out athletic/club awards

Herald-Leader Staff

The William Morton Collegiate Institute Warriors handed out their athletic awards to mark the end of the school year.

The school has eliminated subjective awards such as most valuable player, but still hand out awards based on participation.

The school gave senior letters to Alyson Vercaigne, Gaelen Fehr and Tanner Peters. That trio also earned junior letters, as did Matt Dayholos, Ryley Dayholos, Rory Gabor, Alyssa Hill, Alex Kunzelman, Mitchell McCausland and Jacey Schettler.

Meanwhile, the school also recognized four-year participation in its sports and clubs.

Peters, Fehr and Vercaigne were the three badminton recipients, while McCausland and Vercaigne were the basketball honourees. In volleyball, Kunzelman, Fehr and Peters were the male recipients, while Vercaigne, Schettler, Hill and Kayla Bjarnarson represented the females.

Peters was the lone baseball honouree, while Schettler, Camille Lough and Bjarnarson were recognized for fastpitch. Kara Smith was the one four-year curler, Hill was the one four-year yearbook student, and Schettler and Vercaigne both sat on the student council all four years.

Twitter: PDGdfalloon

Featured Businesses

Go to the Marketplace »